Skip to main content
Book now

Play to the Crowd

The Wizard of Oz

A Traditional Family Pantomime

-

Written & Directed James Barry
Music by Simon Slater

Follow the Yellow Brick Road to Theatre Royal Winchester this Christmas, for our very own panto style production of The Wizard of Oz.

Brim full of all the things you have come to love about our annual pantomimes – original songs, corny jokes and loads of audience participation – this promises to be our most spectacular production yet.

When it comes to festive family fun, there really is no place like Theatre Royal Winchester!

Performance schedule

Date Times Performance type
Sat 3 Dec 7pm Standard
Sun 4 Dec 11am
2.30pm
Standard
Tue 6 Dec 10am Standard
Tue 6 Dec 7pm Silver
Wed 7 Dec 1pm Standard
Wed 7 Dec 7pm Silver
Thu 8 Dec 1pm (Relaxed & Signed) Standard
Fri 9 Dec 10am Standard
Fri 9 Dec 7pm Silver
Sat 10 Dec 11am
2.30pm
Gold
Sat 10 Dec 7pm (Signed) Silver
Sun 11 Dec 11am (Audio Described) Silver
Sun 11 Dec 2.30pm Gold
Tue 13 Dec 10am
1pm
Standard
Wed 14 Dec 10am
1pm
Standard
Fri 16 Dec 10am Standard
Fri 16 Dec 7pm Silver
Sat 17 Dec 11am
2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Sun 18 Dec 11am Gold
Sun 18 Dec 7pm Silver
Tue 20 Dec 2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Wed 21 Dec 11am
2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Thu 22 Dec 2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Fri 23 Dec 11am
2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Sat 24 Dec 11am
2.30pm
Gold
Mon 26 Dec 2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Tue 27 Dec 11am
2.30pm
7pm
Gold
Thu 29 Dec 7pm Silver
Fri 30 Dec 2.30pm Gold
Fri 30 Dec 7pm Silver
Sat 31 Dec 11am
2.30pm
Gold
Sun 1 Jan 2.30pm (Relaxed & Signed)
7pm
Silver
Mon 2 Jan 11am
2.30pm
Silver

Accessible performances

Relaxed performances

Thu 8 Dec 1pm & Sun 1 Jan 2.30pm

Relaxed performances are specially designed to provide a supportive environment for children and adults with learning difficulties, special needs or Autistic Spectrum Condition. The performances are open to everyone but will be particularly suited to these groups.

What happens at Relaxed performances?

  • The auditorium lights will be kept low throughout the show and any loud noises on stage will be softened.
  • Audience members may leave or re-join the performance at any time and staff will be on hand to help out.
  • A visual story will be available in advance to explain what to expect from the performance and how to find your way around the theatre.
  • There will be a chill-out area set aside for those who need time out from the performance.

The pantomime is family-friendly and traditional in format with a hero, a villain, a dame and lots of music and audience participation.

The running time will be approximately 2 hours with an interval of 15-20 minutes after one hour.

If you'd like any further information on Relaxed performances please speak to a member of our Box Office on 01962 840 440.

Audio-described performance and Touch Tour

Sun 11 Dec 11am

(Touch Tour begins 10am)

Visually impaired audiences members can listen to a narrator describing the action on stage between the dialogue via a set of headphones.

Touch Tours take place 1 hour ahead of the Audio-described performance and allow the audience members to visit the set and feel the props to familiarise themselves ahead of the show.

BSL Interpreted performances

Thu 8 Dec 1pmSat 10 Dec 7pm & Sun 1 Jan 2.30pm

During these performances, a British Sign Language interpreter stands at the side of the stage clearly visible to the audience and interprets the spoken word and sound effects.